

"Investing in your future" Cross-border cooperation programme 2007-2013 Part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund)





Final of the European Ownership Award: SCRIPT

Date: 3 December 2013 **Time:** 1PM - 4.30 PM

Location: Nieuwe Veste, Molenstraat 6, 4811 GS Breda

On 3 December the final of the European Ownership Award is taking place in Breda. The preselection of this cross-border competition took place in the 4 partner cities: Kortrijk, Breda, Antwerpen and Medway.

Each partner city decided upon its top 3 of the best entries. These are joining the final competition.



The jury is also cross-border. Each partner city has appointed one professional and one resident to join the jury. The jury consists of the following 8 members:

- Kortrijk: Piet Lareu (Project Coordinator DNA Kortrijk) and Marleen Hoorne (resident Lange Munte)
- Breda: Anoek Beekuizen (fieldworker) en Leo van de Berg (President Community Council)
- Antwerp: Birgitte Bruyninckx (Project Manager DNA) and Franky De Prins (resident/volunteer community house deBuurt)
- Medway: Tim England (Head Safer Communities) and Stephen Perez (resident All Saints)

Process of the final

1PM: Welcoming the jury in the concert hall

GUIDED TOUR ROUND THE PROJECTS

At 1.15 PM, two actors are guiding the jury round the various projects. The candidates have been spread over 4 rooms. Candidates from the same city share a room. The candidates have about 5 minutes to do their presentation. This leaves 5 minutes for questions from the jury.

Kortrijk, V-Tex:

- 1. Neighbourhood with benches
- 2. Transformation of a neglected spruce forest into a green meeting area (V-Tex)
- 3. Children's Party Stasegemsestraat

Kortrijk, Lange Munte

1. Educational tour round forgotten knowledge (Lange Munte)
Since this is the only project from Lange Munte that registered for the competition, it is also the winner in Lange Munte.

Breda

- 1. Parkhoeve Breda-Noord
- 2. Boosting local economy in Geeren
- 3. Community Garden Hoge Vucht

Antwerp

- 1. The soundtrack of our square
- 2. Multicultural Expo "A" Coninckplein

Medway

- 1. Playground equipment at Luton Infants School and Nursery
- 2. Physical Folk
- 3. Annexe Football Club Ladies and Youth Teams

At 3.45 PM, the jury returns to the concert hall to decide upon the different winners. This gives the candidates the chance to visit each other's projects in the various rooms (see map Nieuwe Veste).

Note that there is one important rule for the jury: the jury will abstain from voting on their own city. This means that for each project 6 members of the jury will be evaluating the project.

At 4.15 PM everybody takes their seats again in the concert hall, where the jury will congratulate the winners (one in each city, apart from Kortrijk, where there will be one winner for each neighbourhood). Finally, the mayor will be asked to hand out the prizes.









